Substitutions
Aug 22, 2012 | 687 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print

Question: In high school baseball and softball, a pinch hitter for the catcher enters the batter’s box without any announcement by either the coach or pinch hitter. Is this a legal substitution?


Answer: Although unreported, the substitution becomes legal upon entering the box and the ball is made live (BB – Rule 3, Sec. 1, Art. 1(d); SB – Rule 3, Sec. 3, Art. 3(d)).


Question: In the third inning, Lynn substitutes for starter Jones. In the fifth inning, Jones re-enters game for Lynn. In the seventh inning, Lynn attempts to re-enter game for Jones. Legal action?


Answer: In baseball, this is considered an illegal sub; if on offense, Lynn is out and restricted to bench. If on defense, Lynn is restricted to bench (BB – Rule 3-1-1). In softball, any starter or sub may be withdrawn from game and re-enter once; hence, this is a legal substitution (SB – Rule 3, Sec. 3, Art. 5).

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet