2011 changes
Sep 07, 2011 | 1952 views | 0 0 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school girls’ and boys’ volleyball, after the start of a match in the first set, Team (A) loses a player to injury and legally continues with five players with no substitutes available. During Team A’s rotation to serve, the vacant position rotates into the back right slot to serve. Can Team A skip over the slot without penalty?

Answer: Each time vacant slot rotates to serve, penalty is loss of rally with point awarded to Team (B) as well as the serve. (Rule 1, Sec. 3, Art. 3) This is a procedural emphasis.

Question: Is a let serve a legal, live ball play?

Answer: If a serve contacts the net and crosses the net entirely within the net antennas, the ball remains in play. This net serve is no longer referred to as a let serve. (Rule 8-1-1; Rule 9-6-1)

This feature, which will appear regularly during volleyball season from Sept. to Nov., is designed to explain rules and procedures for girls, boys and adults. Lynch is a member of the National Federation of State High School Association (umpires/officials), Northeast Chapter No. 2 Volleyball Officials Assn., National Association of Sports Officials (NASO) and was past coordinator of the Bayonne Board of Education Elementary Co-ed Volleyball League.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet