Ask the Ump!
by Mike Lynch
May 30, 2018 | 538 views | 0 0 comments | 36 36 recommendations | email to a friend | print
BATTING OUT OF ORDER

QUESTION
: In high school, baseball and softball, the proper order is Cobb, Davis, Evans, Fisk and Groat. Evans incorrectly leads off and singles. Fisk comes to bat but defense appeals batting out of order before a pitch is thrown. Umpire agrees. Is Evans, Cobb or Davis called out? Who continues in the order?

ANSWER: Proper batter (Cobb) who should have led off is called out. Improper batter Evans is removed from first base. Davis, who follows Cobb in order, will bat next followed by Evans (BB- Rule 7, Sec. 1, Art. 2, Pen. 1; SB- Rule 7-1-1& 2).

QUESTION: Cobb correctly leads off with a double. Evans again bats out of order but singles with Cobb scoring. Fisk comes to bat but defense appeals prior to pitch. Is Davis called out? Is Cobb allowed to score? Who bats next?

ANSWER: Proper batter (Davis) who should have followed Cobb is called out. Cobb must return to second base. Evans is removed from first base. Evans, who follows Davis in order, becomes the next batter. If a pitch had been thrown to Fisk, appeal would have been denied and improper order would continue until proper order is restored. (BB- Rule 7, Sec. 1, Art. 2, Pen. 1-5; SB- Rule 7-1-2, Pen. 1-6).

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet