Base running
by Mike Lynch
May 25, 2011 | 942 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school baseball and softball, batter-runner safely reached first base on a batted ball. Runner heads towards first base dugout thinking he/she was called out. Is runner automatically out on abandoned effort? Is this an appeal play? Can runner return?

Answer: Upon reaching at least first base safely, runners who give up effort to touch base by leaving baseline are called out by umpire for abandoning effort. No appeal or play on runner is necessary. (BB - Rule 8, Sec. 4, Art. 2(p); SB - Rule 8, Sec. 6, Art. 22)

Question: Two outs; no runners on base; batter swings and misses strike three. Catcher drops the third strike as batter-runner heads towards dugout thinking he/she is out. Is batter automatically out? Can batter attempt to run to first base? Is this considered abandoned effort?

Answer: Batter is not called out until he/she enters dugout. It is up to the defense to put out the batter for the final out. This is not “abandoning effort” because base was not yet reached; batter-runner is permitted to advance to first base prior to entering own dugout. (BB - Rule 8, Sec. 4, Art. 1(e,f); SB - Rule 8-1-1(b) & Rule 8-2-4)

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet