Player conduct
Jun 22, 2011 | 1718 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school baseball and softball, batter singles to outfield and forcefully releases bat which hits catcher or umpire. Once play is over, plate umpire calls “time” and calls batter out. Correct call?

Answer: Umpire must judge intentional or unintentional action but batter is “not” called out. If deliberate, player would be ejected and sub would replace player on first. In other case, umpire would issue warning to head coach with next violation by any player on said team to be ejected. (BB – Rule 3, Sec. 3, Art. 1(c); SB – Rule 3, Sec. 6, Art. 3)

Question: After game has started, the visiting team’s assistant coach hits balls to infielders in home half of third inning prior to the at bat. Legal?

Answer: Illegal action with team warning issued to head coach. (BB – Rule 3-3-1(e); SB – Rule 3-6-4)

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet