UPDATED: Hoboken Mayor Zimmer's top officials up for raises Wednesday night
Jan 21, 2014 | 3664 views | 0 0 comments | 33 33 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Hoboken City Hall, where Mayor Dawn Zimmer's top directors may get 10 percent raises Wednesday evening.
Hoboken City Hall, where Mayor Dawn Zimmer's top directors may get 10 percent raises Wednesday evening.
HOBOKEN – The Hoboken City Council will vote Wednesday night on potential salary increases for eight high-ranking officials in the administration of Dawn Zimmer, many as high as 10 percent.

The actual ordinance that is being voted on does not provide the raises, but increases the salary ranges for these top positions. Such a measure generally allows the city to give higher salaries if they decide to do, and is often passed so that they may do that soon after.

City spokesman Juan Melli confirmed the ordinance on Wednesday morning. If the city decides to give raises based on the new maximum, the raises will add $109,682 to the city’s payroll.

According to the ordinance, city attorney Mellissa Longo is set to receive the largest of the bunch, a $28,182 increase from $109,318 to $137,500.

Melli, whose official title is Confidential Aide to Mayor Dawn Zimmer, will receive a $6,500 raise, bringing his salary to $78,000.

Business Administrator Quentin Wiest, Assistant Business Administrator Stephen Marks, Community Development Director Brandy Forbes, Health and Human Services Director Leo Pellegrini, Public Safety Director Jon Tooke, and Transportation and Parking Director could each receive a raise of $12,500. All of the salary ranges except one will jump from $125,000 to $137,500; Wiest’s will increase from $150,000 to $162,500.

The measure was introduced at a Jan. 7 meeting, passing by a 5-3 vote. Zimmer holds the majority on the nine-member council, so if she supports the measure, it is likely to pass. The yes votes came from Zimmer’s allies on the council – Council President Jennifer Giattino, Vice President Ravi Bhalla, 6th Ward Councilman Peter Cunningham, and Councilmen-at-Large Jim Doyle and David Mello – while the no votes were cast by those who generally oppose, 2nd Ward Councilwoman Beth Mason, 3rd Ward Councilman Michael Russo, and 4th Ward Councilman Tim Occhipinti. Councilwoman Theresa Castellano was absent from the meeting. – Dean DeChiaro

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet