Answer: Foul tip; live ball, strike on batter. (BB - Rule 2, Sec. 16, Art. 2; SB - Rule 2, Sec. 25, Art. 2)
Question: Batted ball goes sharply and directly to catcher’s chest protector and is caught by catcher in glove for apparent third strike. Foul ball, foul tip, or strike three?
Answer: This is ruled an “uncaught” foul ball because it initially contacted the catcher’s protector rather than the glove/mitt; hence, dead ball, foul. Contacting the protector first is similar to hitting the ground. (BB - Rule 2, Sec. 16, Art. 1(d); SB - Rule 2, Sec. 25, Art. 1(g); both - Rule 5- 1-1(d-2))