Line drive
by Mike Lynch
Jul 06, 2011 | 2028 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Question: In high school baseball and softball, runner on first base; one out; batter hits a line drive to shortstop, who catches ball in flight for second out. Shortstop throws across infield to first baseman, who steps on first to retire the runner who was off the bag for the final out. Is this a force play or appeal play?

Answer: This is considered an “unmistakable” appeal play and is treated as a live ball appeal of the runner who left the base on a caught fly ball (line drive) too soon before the initial ball touch. The immediate action by the shortstop and first baseman is deemed an appeal. (BB- Rule 2, Sec. 6, Art. 3 & Rule 8-2-6 (a & b); SB- Rule 2, Sec. 34 & Rule 2-1-2(b))

Question: Bases loaded; no outs; batter hits line drive to shortstop, who drops the ball and the ensuing action gains a triple play. Is this an infield rule situation?

Answer: A line drive or bunt play does not allow the infield fly rule to be called; hence, ball remains live and outs recorded. If infielder intentionally dropped line drive to gain advantage; dead ball; batter is out and runners return to base at time of pitch. (BB- Rule 5, Sec. 1, Art. 1(j) & Rule 8-4-1(c); SB- Rule 5, Sec. 1, Art. 1(l) & Rule 8-2-10 & Rule 8-5-8)

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet