Question: In high school girls’ and boys’ volleyball, the second hit by receiving squad, Team R, rolls along a ceiling beam on its own side of court and ball then falls onto same side of playing court. Does ball remain in play? Is this a replay?
Answer: Play continues because ball fell to same playing side of court. This is not a replay (Rule 2, Sec. 2, Art. 1).
Question: If a player unintentionally serves ball before first referee’s signal/whistle to serve, is a replay granted?
Answer: Yes. Replay is permitted (Rule 9, Sec. 8, Art. 1c). If action was deliberate, an unsporting conduct penalty (yellow card) is assessed the server (Rule 12, Sec. 2, Art. 9h).