Watterman, Rivera, Lavarro, others win council seats in Jersey City runoff; Fulop now has 7-2 majority
Jun 12, 2013 | 2976 views | 0 0 comments | 68 68 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Rolando Lavarro Jr. (right)
Rolando Lavarro Jr. (right)
JERSEY CITY -- The runoff results are in, and Jersey City now has a new council to go with new Mayor Steve Fulop. Fulop now has a 7-2 majority on the nine-member body.

Tuesday night's results have Joyce Watterman, Daniel Rivera, and Rolando Lavarro as the winners of council-at-large slots. Viola Richardson came in behind. The winners each claimed more than 11,000 votes, while Richardson had 5,542.

In Ward A, former schools superintendent Charles Epps lost out to Frank Gajewski. Gajewski amassed 2,101 votes; Epps had 1,380.

In Ward B, Khemraj "Chico" Ramchal beat activist Esther Wintner 1,493 to 539.

In Ward C, Richard Boggiano bested Nidia Lopez, but it was close: 1,686 to 1,332.

In Ward D, Michael Yun beat Sean Connors, 1,833 to 1,402.

Boggiano and Yun were the only non-Fulop allied candidates to win.

In Ward F, Diane Coleman ran unopposed and amassed 1,490 votes.

Watch this weekend's paper for more coverage.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet