McGreevey, Florio, Levin, and other notables/surprises on Fulop's transition team list
Jun 14, 2013 | 8483 views | 0 0 comments | 121 121 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Mayor-elect Steven Fulop has tapped Jerry Healy Ward E candidate Dan Levin (pictured) to serve on one of his transition team subcommittees.
Mayor-elect Steven Fulop has tapped Jerry Healy Ward E candidate Dan Levin (pictured) to serve on one of his transition team subcommittees.
JERSEY CITY AND BEYOND – Mayor-elect Steven Fulop this week released the names of the people serving on his transition committee.

Previously, Fulop announced that State Sen. Sandra Cunningham and Hudson County Freeholder William O’Dea would be co-chairs of the transition team. He also revealed the names of 10 individuals who will serve as chairpeople of 11 transition subcommittees.

Now, the entire makeup of the transition team has been made public.

“I am thankful to all the volunteers who agreed to serve on these committees,” Fulop said. “They represent some of the most experienced and dedicated individuals in the state. The committees include members of the community who know Jersey City, as well as former and current [elected] officials who can share with us their collective experiences of what works best.”

The committees, under the direction of O’Dea and Cunningham, are charged with conducting an overall assessment of existing city functions and making recommendations to the mayor-elect.

Among the names that raised eyebrows, for one reason or another, include:

-Former governors James McGreevey and James Florio;

-Downtown activist Dan Levin, who ran with outgoing Mayor Jerramiah Healy after Fulop selected Candice Osborne instead of Levin to run for his Ward E City Council seat;

- Catherine Hecht, publisher of the Jersey City Independent;

-Current city business administrator under Healy, Jack Kelly

-Former Hudson County Sheriff Juan Perez Here is the full list:

Budget and Financial Operations Review Subcommittee:

Henry Amoroso, Esq. (Chair)

Keith Balla, CPA

Tom Banker, Professor

Alexander Habib, Public Relations Executive

Jack Kelly, Business Administrator, City of Jersey City

Peter O’Reilly, Actuary

John Thieroff, Financial Consultant

Karen Desoto, Esq.

Public Safety Operational Review Subcommittee:

Larry Mone, Public Policy advocate (Chair)

William Braker, NAACP

Sam DeMaio, Police Director, City of Newark

Anthony Daiuto, Captain JCPD, ret.

Rick Friedberg, Public Safety expert

Juan Perez, NJ State Police Captain, ret.

Departmental Operations Review Subcommittee:

Eric Shuffler, Strategic Advisor (Chair)

Paul Bellan-Boyer, Community Activist

Antony Cruz, former Deputy Mayor, City of Jersey City

James Florio, Governor

Greg Lavelee, Labor Leader

Jamie Lefrak, Real Estate Executive

Daniel Levin, Community Activist

E. Junior Maldonado, Former City Councilman, City of Jersey City

Carlos Medina, Chairman, Statewide Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of New Jersey

Rev. Charles McKinney

Carlos Medina, Business Professional

Aaron Morrill, Esq., Trustee, Civic JC

Doug Palmer, Former Mayor of Trenton, past President of Conference of Mayors

Jamie Santana, Community Activist

Brian Nelson, Esq.

Executive Recruitment Subcommittee:

Sangeeta Renade, Engineer (Chair)

Muhammed Akil, Senior Advisor to Mayor-Elect Steven Fulop

Jeremy Farrell, Esq.

William Harla, Esq.

Tricia Mueller, Labor Leader

Ellen Simon, Community Activist

John Thieroff, Financial Consultant

Workforce Development, Training and Reentry Subcommittee:

Henry Plotkin, Workforce Development and Training Executive (Chair)

Muhammed Akil, Senior Advisor to Mayor-Elect Steven Fulop

George Blount, Employment and Training Professional

Brooke Hannson, Prisoner Re-entry Professional

Nancy Lamboy, Employment and Training Professional

Raquel Mazon-Jeffers, Addiction Specialist

James McGreevey, Governor

Analilia Mejia, Labor Leader

Pat Patel, Employment and Training Professional

Assemblyman Troy Singleton Labor Leader

Real Estate/Redevelopment/Business Climate-Outreach Subcommittee:

Jeremy Farrell, Esq. (Chair)

Dave Barry, Real Estate Executive

Dania Caballero, Construction Contractor

Michael Capelli, Labor Leader

Jim Dowling, Engineer

Jamie Fox, Strategic Advisor

William Harla, Esq.

Karim Hutson, Real Estate Executive

June Jones, Real Estate Executive, Community Activist

Jeff Kaplowitz, Real Estate Professional

Jamie Lefrak, Real Estate Executive

Phil Rivo, Real Estate Professional

Eric Silverman, Real Estate Executive

Independent Authorities Subcommittee:

John Thieroff, Financial Consultant (Chair)

Daniel Becht, Director of Jersey City Municipal Utilities Authority

Althea Bernheim, Community Activist

David Donnelly, Non-profit Executive; City Councilman, City of Jersey City

Edward Florio, Esq.

William Harla, Esq.

William Katchen, CPA

Ron Russell, Architect

John Seborowski, Retired Technology Executive, Community Activist

Cultural Development and Tourism Subcommittee:

Elizabeth Cain, Entrepreneur (Chair)

Ric Ayala, Entrepreneur

Dan Boguszewski, Brand Management

Uta Brauser, Artist

Shani Friedman, Brand Management Executive

Craig Goletz, Financial Services Executive; Trustee Jersey City Film Festival

Dale Hardman, Community Activist

Jarl Haugedal, Entrepreneur; Brand Management

Catherine Hecht, Publisher of Jersey City Independent

Rev. Charles McKinney

Billy Michael, Entrepreneur; Brand Management

Maria Nieves, President of Jersey City Chamber of Commerce

Charlie Rosen, Advertising and Communications

Tim White, Public Relations Executive

Daoud David Williams, Community Activist

Recreation and Education Subcommittee:

Dr. Marcia Lyles, Superintendent of Jersey City Public Schools (Chair)

Carol Harrison Arnold, Esq.

Dr. Eugene Cornacchia, President of St. Peter’s University

Christy Davis-Jackson, Strategic Advisor

Dr. Sue Henderson, President, New Jersey City University

Linda Mayo, Educator

Rev. Reginald McRae

Felicia Noth, Educator; Community Activist

Shelley Skinner, Education Activist

Arie Sladowsky, Entertainment Marketing

Technology and Communications Subcommittee:

Candice Osborne, Technology Professional, Councilwoman-Elect (Chair)

Sebastian Bernheim, Technology Professional

Steve Davison, Technology Professional

Michelle Edwards, Communications Professional

Owen Gunden, Technology Entrepreneur

Joe Harkins, Community Activist

Peter Landt, Technology Professional

Robert McHugh, Communications Professional

Stephen Musgrave, Technology Professional; Community Activist

Rob Crow, Technology Professional

Legal Review Subcommittee:

Jeremy Farrell, Esq. (Chair)

Ramy Eid, Esq.

Bernard Kenny, Esq., Former NJ State Senator

Ralph Lamparello, President NJ State Bar Association

Victor Sison, Esq., Municipal Judge, City of Jersey City

Matthew O’Donnell, Esq.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet