Weehawken school district certified as future-ready
All three schools achieve recognition
Dec 10, 2017 | 3478 views | 0 0 comments | 189 189 recommendations | email to a friend | print
On hand as the school district received the Future-Ready Honor are (left to right) school board member Brian Mera; Weehawken H.S. Principal Anthony Colasurdo; Theodore Roosevelt Principal Suzanne Mera; District IT and Digital Information Officer Brian Calligy; New Jersey Dept. of Education Director of Innovation Joshua Cohen; Superintendent Robert R. Zywicki; school board President Richard Barsa; board member Susan Jennings; Daniel Webster School Principal Anna Rudowsky; and district Director of Academic Affairs and Innovation Francesca Amato.
view slideshow (2 images)
In recognition of their technological prowess, Weehawken educators were honored at the Future-Ready Schools - NJ Awards Ceremony on Oct. 23 at the New Jersey School Boards Association Annual Workshop Conference in Atlantic City.

The district was certified as “Future-Ready” by Future-Ready Schools – New Jersey. The certification program is a partnership of the New Jersey Department of Education, New Jersey School Boards Association, and New Jersey Institute of Technology.

The year-long process required schools to submit evidence of Future-Ready practices in three categories: “Leadership;” “Education and Classroom Practice;” and Technology Support and Services.”

Only 55 schools, less than two percent in New Jersey, were certified as Future-Ready. All of Weehawken’s schools (Weehawken High School, Theodore Roosevelt, and Daniel Webster) achieved Future-Ready certification.

Weehawken is the sole district in Hudson County to have schools certified. Furthermore, there were only a handful of districts that had all of their schools apply to the program and then be certified.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet