Mayor, council members sworn in
Town manager, clerk, and attorney also inaugurated
by Hannington Dia
Reporter Staff Writer
Jul 08, 2018 | 3058 views | 0 0 comments | 107 107 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Mayor Richard Turner is sworn in for his eighth term.
view slideshow (5 images)
The municipal “Weehawken and You” slate was inaugurated for new terms at Weehawken High School July 1. The terms run for four years each.

In Weehawken’s mayor/council form of government, voters choose five council members, who then vote for a mayor from among themselves. The mayor also serves simultaneously as a councilperson-at-large, as does one other member of the council. The other three council members represent the township’s 1st, 2nd, and 3rd wards.

The slate – which ran uncontested – includes incumbents Mayor Richard Turner, 1st Ward Councilwoman Carmela Silvestri-Ehret and 2nd Ward Councilwoman Rosemary Lavagnino. Former 3rd Ward Councilman Robert Sosa, who served on and off for over 30 years, decided to not seek reelection. Robert Zuconni, who served for 16 years as an at-large councilman, also did not seek another term.

Their replacements were Raul Gonzalez, and David Curtis, respectively. Gonzalez is a former community engagement manager for the North Hudson Community Action Corporation. Curtis is a retired North Hudson Regional Fire and Rescue chief.


“We look forward to working with you for the next four years.” – Weehawken and You


“We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to the residents of Weehawken,” the slate said, in a statement. “We look forward to working with you for the next four years.” Township Manager Giovanni Ahmad, Clerk Rola Dahboul - Fares, and Attorney Richard Venino were also sworn in at the ceremony.

Hannington Dia can be reached at

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet