Answer: Because uncaught foul ball is dead, runners are not required to retouch intervening bases. (BB- Rule 8, Sec. 2, Art. 2; SB- Rule 8-3-2.)
Question: Must a runner vacate his/her base when an infielder is making a play to catch a foul fly ball in the infield? Interference? Batter/runner out?
Answer: Unless umpire judges deliberate interference, runner is entitled to remain on the base. (BB- Rule 8, Sec. 2, Art. 8; SB- Rule 8, Sec. 6, Art. 10) (BB- If runner interference is ruled, ball is dead, batter called out. Rule 7-4-1(f). SB- When runner interference is called during foul fly ball, ball is dead; runner is called out with less than two outs, batter remains at bat with a foul ball strike added to count; with two outs, batter credited with a fielder’s choice. Rule 8-6-10(b)).