Answer: One base award from time of throw by pitcher from position; hence, runner gains second base. (Rule 8, Sec. 3, Art. 3(d) )
Question: In high school softball only, batter-runner singles and rounds first base and stops as pitcher receives ball in pitching circle. Can batter-runner jockey her position to get pitcher to make a play? Is play dead when pitcher has control of ball in 16 foot circle?
Answer: Live ball; once runner stopped, she must “immediately” advance and continue to second or return to first base. Under the look back rule, runner is called out for lack of action. If pitcher, within the circle and control of ball, fakes or makes a play on runner, look back rule is “not” in effect. (SB-Rule 8, Sec. 7. Art. 1-4)